C25K Success – reflections

19 Jan

C25K success is the most frequent Google search phrase that finds this little blog. 

My original success can be found back in March 2009 and is the first time I ran for over 30 minutes straight.  I ran for 40 minutes and was absolutely thrilled.

It was a 2009 resolution to take up running.  I bought the Nike+ shoes, the iPod nano, the armband, and the shoe chip and put the C25K sessions into my phone calendar.  I cannot say enough good things about this program.  I can still remember the first time I ran for a minute, the first time I ran for an entire song (Rihanna SOS), my first five minutes, the first 8 minutes and so on.  Funnily enough I played  SOS so many times during those first few months of C25K that I can’t stand it anymore!

7 months after starting the program I ran 10 miles with my younger brother – I use the term ‘with’ loosely since he lapped me at mile 7 (his legs are a good few inches longer than mine and he’s training for the military!)

8 months into the program I was running the five miles home a couple times a week from work (and beating the 2 buses I normally took).

9 months into the program I ran my first race, all 13.1 miles of it and didn’t stop once. 

I have lost 20lbs since beginning that journey a year ago and absolutely LOVE running. I’m going to run the half-marathon again this year and will hopefully smash my previous time. And I owe it all to the C25K program.

– CJ

Leave a Reply

