Fake it ‘til you make it

22 May

I wrote this post in early May…

The other day Ashley posted the following quote from one of her weight watchers meetings:

Watch your thoughts for they become words

What your words for they become actions

Watch your actions for they become habits

Watch your habits for they become character

Watch your character for it becomes your destiny

My first thought was whether I’d have stuck with meetings if I’d had a better leader. The first leader I had was fine, she recommended new products and recipes but we didn’t really cover emotional issues or tools to combat them. The second group we didn’t even have meetings. She had scheduled weigh-in times and then a meeting later in the afternoon that I was never able to go to because of work. So I would literally go at lunchtime and weigh and leave.

My second thought was what a good quote that is. I am currently writing this from a train headed north for work. I am pretending not to be terrified but I am. I am spending two nights, three days doing a job that I have only a little experience in but that I know I hate. I am just not good at approaching strangers and chatting to them and this is a major part of my job for the next 72 hours.

Instead, I am attempting to fake it ‘til I make it.  I am in the process of convincing myself that I’m excited about this task and that I’m REALLY lucky my boss had the confidence to send me in place of anyone else.

So I’m watching my thoughts because they become words, and then actions, and habits and character.

And you know what? It worked…I spent 72 hours away on a business trip and I didn’t hate it!

-CJ

Leave a Reply

