Overnight Oats

17 Jun

I have no real reason for not working out since Monday’s Body Pump.  I had sort of wanted to run a couple of miles on Tuesday but instead I worked late.  I wasn’t even doing anything that urgent or particularly useful.  I sort of killed time at the office until almost 9pm so by the time I got home, cooked up some quorn mince, pesto and tomato mix it was time for bed.  Last night a similar energy dip made working out the last thing I wanted to be doing.  I think I need to introduce a good afternoon snack to hold me over.

So, my exciting purchase that I didn’t know was sold in the UK?? Chia seeds!!

Last night I filled a jar with 1/2 cup oats, almost a cup of soymilk and half a tablespoon of chia seeds. This morning I topped with a banana and a spoonful of peanut butter and died and went to heaven.DSCF0045 Yes, I understand the purpose of oats in a jar is to use the last traces of nut butter and yes, that jar actually used to hold peppers but I was planning ahead in case I wanted to take it to work.

Instead, when my alarm went off this morning, I jumped out of bed in excitement to go and discover what my fridge had in store for me.  Besides tasting out of this world and being insanely easy and quick for a work-day morning, those overnight oats held me over until 11am before my stomach first growled.  Impressive, right?

That concludes this lunchtime blogging from Starbucks with my grande tazo tea, so back to work I go.

– CJ

Leave a Reply

