Half Marathon update: week 3

10 Aug

Week 3 update

Well, my 100% week has alluded me again. I ran my 3.5 miles on Tuesday, ran my 2 miles on Wednesday but never made it my 3.5 miles on Thursday.

This running 3 days straight is harder than I imagined.

I did, however, drag myself out of the house for my 5 miles on Sunday.

It was tough. I meant to go first thing but I was starving when I woke up and even after eating breakfast my stomach still felt achy. Instead, I got some work done and ate lunch and then thought about going again. Only now I was feeling kind of full. I waited and then I felt like I’d need a snack…I’m ridiculous I know.

Eventually, I told myself it didn’t matter how slow I ran, I just had to get out there and do it. And I did. And I finished in about an hour and 3 minutes with an average pace of about 12:43 I think.  I definitely saw 14:47 appear on my garmin at one point but even so, my 12 minute/mile average is still holding true.

I’ve set my screensaver at work to the official half-marathon one and now every time I leave my computer for more than 5 minutes I come back to an array of pictures from the route and a giant countdown. I think it’s about 61 days from today – I need to get my butt in gear!  

– CJ

Leave a Reply

