Volume Eating

14 Aug

I am most definitely a volume eater. This may be something I work on further into my weight loss journey but at the moment I am fully aware that I like to feel comfortably full after eating. 

On a shopping trip to Whole Foods one day I stumbled on this Bounce Peanut Protein Ball snack. It was delicious. But it was made with peanut butter and it took me maybe 3 bites to devour. To me, 3 bites doesn’t feel like a snack, and this thing had more points than most of my meals. Even if the protein technically would have filled me up. I still like to feel like I’ve eaten more.

DSCF0008 Weightwatchers actually works quite well for volume eaters. Many vegetables have zero points, which means I stock up at every meal.

Here are some of my tricks to keeping my points low but my stomach happy.

Bulking with vegetables

Polenta pizza with a massive layer of sautéed spinach, mushrooms and tomatoes (polenta is relatively low in points + the points in the cheese). Would this pizza have been delicious if it had just been cheese and tomato? Possibly. But where’s the fun (and satiety) in that?

DSCF0001

Grilled pita sandwich stuffed with veggies and a side of veggies so I only have to count points for the pita. Crudites like baby tomatoes and sliced peppers mean you take much longer over your meal and your hands are kept busy and away from that sweet after-meal treat. DSCF0012

Two eggs on a whole wheat muffin (points) with a huge bowl of salad (no points) plus a little dressing (points). Huge salads are a lunch staple for me. They take ages to eat and fill you up, all with very few points.

DSCF0014

Are you a volume eater? How do you get all your veggies into your day?

– CJ

3 Responses to “Volume Eating”

  1. oblitarationofthefatgirl August 16, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    I could not agree more. Volume is very necessary to keep me full. I have, like you, been eating a tone of veggies to keep my stomach happy!

  2. www.embracenutrition.blogspot.com August 18, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    Love the colour in your meals – they look very tasty!

    • project55statusongoing August 28, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

      oh thank you. I would one day love to invest in a really nice camera to make my meals look even prettier! One day!

Leave a Reply

