11:55

15 Aug

This weekend has been crappy except for my run. I kicked my own ass at running today.

I laid around and watched TV most of yesterday only venturing out to the grocery store once.  Then today, I woke up at 9am ate my overnight oats and fell back to sleep until 2pm. 2pm!

Finally up, I procrastinated in every which way possible to avoid my scheduled 5 mile run.  The upside is that my kitchen is lovely and sparkly clean.

Finally, at 7pm I kicked my own ass out the door and told myself that once more it didn’t matter how slowly I ran, I just needed to get it done.

  1. First mile lap, garmin beeps and up flashes 11:48. Nice one. Then I think to myself, self, why don’t you see if you can keep your pace as close to the 12min/mile as possible.  Try not to repeat last week and see any 13min/mile or 14/min/miles flash up.  Ok, challenge set.
  2. Second mile lap, garmin beeps and up flashes 11:51. Wow, I can’t remember the last time I ran under 12min/miles.
  3. The third mile was pretty tough. I think because I knew I was hitting the halfway point but I was running it on a 6 mile loop so I didn’t actually get to turn around until over halfway. What a mental game but garmin beeped and up flashed 12:04. Damnit!
  4. Ok, still on track but need to pick up that pace. Now I’m thinking I can finish this 5 miler in under an hour.  The last time I did that was in September 2009! Finish the fourth mile in 11:55.
  5. Final mile and I can’t believe I tried to sack off this run and call for pizza instead. Yes, before I cleaned my entire kitchen I contemplated a big pizza for dinner and ‘starting again tomorrow’. Now I’m kicking ass! Finish the final mile in 11:54 for a total of 59:31 and average pace of 11:55. Awesome.

-CJ

4 Responses to “11:55”

  1. Dillypoo August 15, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    Congratulations! I’m impressed, not only with your time but with your perseverance. Way to stick with it! And you have a clean kitchen!

    Now I’m impressed and jealous.

  2. oblitarationofthefatgirl August 16, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Congrats on your fantastic run! Good for you for getting that workout in. I know there are days you just have to kick yourself up and out the door!

  3. Laura August 19, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    Great work on your run 🙂

    • project55statusongoing August 28, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

      thanks guys. I’m a big believer in faking it ’til you make it and one day I really hope I look forward to working out!

Leave a Reply

