Half Marathon update: Weeks 4 and 5

28 Aug

Eeek how’d I fall off this bandwagon all of a sudden?? Fortunately, I haven’t slacked off the running bandwagon quite so much as the blogging one!

I’ve taped my training schedule to the fridge door and had fun sticking little stars on all the workouts I’ve completed to date last night. Yes, I’m 7 (not 27!)

image

Week 4

So, week 4 in a nutshell was a disaster. I got my 3.5miles in on Tuesday then got horribly drunk at a work related function on Wednesday so needless to say my 2 miler got skipped. Then I was still too sick and hungover feeling even on Thursday so I skipped that 3.5 miler too.

Luckily, I got my 5 mile long run in on the Sunday, which you can read all about in my last post because it was awesome and I maintained an 11:55 average pace. I get excited if I run anything under 12 minute miles…I’m easy to please I know.

Week 5

Week 5 was awesome in its entirety.  Well, that’s a lie. My Tuesday 4 miler sucked hardcore and I was seriously dragging but luckily I had just run my awesome 5 miler two days before so I chalked it up to heavy legs and completed it with an average pace of 12:51.

Wednesday’s 2 mile run was awesome (I’m going to see how many times I can use that word today) and I averaged a 10:57 pace. If you think I get excited about anything under the 12 minute mile pace, you should have seen how excited I was to finish with an average pace under an 11 minute mile.

Thursday’s 4 miler was another slower run with a 12:56 average pace.  So it seems I’m alternating good run with slow run. Ok, I can live with that.

Sunday’s long run called for 6 miles. I ran 7 because I was having such a friggin’ good time. That has never happened to me before. I had a new running route, along a canal and I want to move to North London now just to run alongside it again. My average pace was all over the place because I had my friend’s dog with me the first 3 miles and he was useless at running but it was about a 13:11 pace with a couple of really slow miles alternated with some faster under 12 min/mile ones once I lost the dog (not literally. I dropped him off at home).

But overall, week 5 was awesome. The first week I managed to hit all my mileage.

Stay tuned for my week 6 update. I experienced a true runner’s high for the first time EVER.

Have you ever experienced a runner’s high? Are you training for anything?

– CJ

Leave a Reply

