Weight loss foods

4 Sep

That’s Fit did a great article on 10 nutritional powerhouses and why they’re good food choices for those of us trying to lose weight.  The article gives great suggestions on how to incorporate them into your diet but here’s what I do with them. I eat all 10 on a regular basis!

  1. Apples – I typically eat an apple every day.  They’re just half a point and they’re excellent to pull out at 5:30pm when I know I need to run home in an hour or so.  They stave off those hunger pangs just long enough to get me home for dinner.
  2. Broccoli – I love steamed broccoli.  One of my favourite ways to eat it is a Mexican broccoli bowl. I steam (a massive quantity) of broccoli, top with fat-free, vegetarian refried beans, salsa and a little grated cheese for a hearty dinner.  It has flavours reminiscent of nachos but way less calories.
  3. Chickpeas – Hummus is a staple in my diet.  I love it in sandwiches, on carrots, on bread and on tortilla chips.  My favourite way is to eat it with sliced up red and yellow peppers.  I’ve also been loving on Sainsbury’s Be Good To Yourself chickpea and spinach soup lately.  There’s only 2.5 points in the whole can.
  4. Coconut oil –  I’ll be honest, given the high points value in any fats/oils I’ve been hesitant to use much coconut oil since going back to Weightwatchers but reading about the benefits (reduction in waist circumference and an improvement in cholesterol levels) I’m thinking I might make more of an effort with it. Vegetables stir-fried in coconut oil take on a lovely hint of tropical flavour.
  5. Mushrooms – I could eat mushrooms until the cows come home. My usual vegetable stir-fry features them heavily. Portabella mushroom pizzas (just top them with tomato sauce, turkey pepperoni and cheese then grill/broil) were a staple in my South Beach Diet phase. And have you seen Macheesmo’s mushroom meatloaf? Words cannot describe.
  6. Oatmeal – I eat oatmeal pretty much every day.  I love hot oatmeal in the winter and overnight oats in the summer.  In the winter my standard recipe involves a stovetop, oatmeal, milk, banana and peanut butter.  In the summer it’s oatmeal and chia seeds, soaked overnight in milk then topped with peanut butter and banana or layered in a parfait with banana soft serve.
  7. Olives – Of all the foods on the list, this is probably the one I eat least regularly.  I actually discovered my love for olives only a few years ago and they make a great snack.  I love topping salads with olives and feta, it’s a great way to add some zest to a work lunch with a little Greek inspiration.
  8. Salmon – Salmon is one of the reasons I may never be a vegetarian. I love salmon in all forms. Spicy salmon rolls, salmon nigiri, salmon sashimi and salmon and avocado hand rolls are staple sushi fixes. I often throw a can of salmon into a vegetable stir-fry for some quick and fuss-free protein.  It’s also great mashed up with a little mayo and mustard for a sandwich filling.  If I have more time, I bake a salmon fillet in a tin foil parcel with a little bbq sauce, or chilli sauce or even just a slice of lemon.
  9. Salsa – Salsa is obviously best eaten with tortilla chips or on a good plate of nachos but it’s also great in its own right. I love it with a little hummus to make a low fat salad dressing, on eggs to replace high-sugar ketchup, on any form of protein (chicken or fish) with a sprinkle of cheese or on my broccoli bowl.  I love Mexican flavours and salsa always makes me think Mexican.
  10. Skim milk – I read somewhere that skim milk has more calcium than regular milk, either way its my go-to choice. I use it in my oatmeal, in my morning coffee, put a dash in when scrambling eggs and have even been known to drink it straight up (with a little nesquik chocolate powder of course!).  It’s also a great addition to smoothies, particularly my favourite green variety which consists of milk, ice, spinach and a banana.  Yum.

What are your favourite ways to eat these nutritional powerhouses?

– CJ

One Response to “Weight loss foods”

  1. Dillypoo September 5, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    Great suggestion for eating broccoli! I like to find a hearty veggie meal for those days when I’m low on points at dinnertime. Sometimes I steam a bag of veggies and top them with a marinara sauce (who says spaghetti sauce has to be eaten on noodles only?).

    Another thing I like to do with salsa is mix it with some low fat cottage cheese and then eat it with cucumbers or carrots sliced like chips. Yummy!

    With regard to getting those 2 points of healthy oils in each day, it’s HARD! So I’ve started taking a teaspoon of olive oil every morning and another before I go to bed. It sounds gross, but it really isn’t. I restricted my fat intake for too long and now I’m noticing that my hair is thinning. I’m hoping that adding the fat back will help reverse the problem!

Leave a Reply

