Half-Marathon 2

10 Oct

So this morning I fueled up with half a cup of iced coffee and two pieces of toast with peanut butter, a banana and some chia seeds.

And then I was out the door. 

After a little frustration with closed tube stations (I checked when I left but 20 minutes later when I got there a defective train had shut the station ARGH).

Made it to Hyde Park with just enough time to pee and check my bag and then we were off.

(source)

I was a little disconcerted to find the 2:10 pacer was in the corral behind me but I shouldn’t have worried.  He passed me by at about mile 3! 

Mile 1 started off a little fast (I was seeing 8minute/miles on the Garmin) but I managed to slow it way down and came in at 11:18.  My goal was to keep under 12 minute miles and to not burn out.

At about mile 2, the elite runners passed us going in the opposite direction and I saw one of them just collapse and get hooked up to breathing apparatus.  Holy crap – and he’s a professional!

Miles 1-6 were awesome.  We looped past Buckingham Palace, the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben, the London Eye, ran along the Thames, and passed Trafalgar Square and Marble Arch.

For some reason, mile 5 was my slowest at 12:35.

Miles 6-13.1 were ALL inside Hyde Park and the course was a little more, undulating? than I’m typically used to.  At mile 6 I actually got super excited to see 1:10 on the Garmin but then I realised that mile 6 is not actually halfway! Yeah, clearly all my brain cells were being used to make my legs move!

Mile 7 I saw another runner drop and get stretchered off.  It was pretty scary to see but I told myself I was going to be ok and just kept trucking on.  It was hot out there today and there were some stretches where the sun was just beating down on all of us. I should probably have worn sunscreen but it was dark when I left the house so that thought never entered my mind.

I was really pleased to see the mile 10 marker before I hit the 2 hour mark. I sort of loved having my name on my t-shirt so people cheered me on.  It made me smile and definitely pick up the pace.

The final mile was pretty tough.  The food festival was in full swing and the smell of BBQ made me want to hurl. 

My final time, and the course was pretty much bang on distance-wise because my Garmin read just 13.15 miles, was 2 hours, 35 minutes and 20 seconds. I loved that they texted this to you shortly after you finished and I loved that it was actually 2 seconds quicker than my Garmin.

Final race splits:

Average pace: 11:49

  • Mile 1 – 11:18
  • Mile 2 – 11:38
  • Mile 3 – 11:50
  • Mile 4 – 11:31
  • Mile 5 – 12:35
  • Mile 6 – 11:55
  • Mile 7 – 11:51
  • Mile 8 – 11:42
  • Mile 9 – 11:44
  • Mile 10 – 11:58
  • Mile 11 – 12:09
  • Mile 12 – 11:45
  • Mile 13 – 11:50
  • 0.15 at the end – 1:36 (10:33 pace was about all the sprint I could manage to the finish!)

Pretty consistent pacing if I do say so myself! And 2 minutes faster than last year – Woot!

Since the race was in Hyde Park I treated myself to a little trip to the High Street Kensington Wholefoods where I purchased a spaghetti squash, brown rice sushi, braggs amino acids and some dark chocolate dreams peanut butter. Mmmmm

I think my next challenge is going to be to improve my pace a little. I’d like to do some 10 minute miles and maybe a sub-30minute 5k? I’ve never done a 5k before.

– CJ

Leave a Reply

